No Title= No Problem Explored
Almost all Junk Car Removal ads feature the No Title= No Problem slogan. In NY or NJ this is true providing your vehicle is more than 8 years old and you have a valid driver’s license, a copy of the registration and a copy of your insurance card. Many car owners being skeptical of the online Junk Car industry do not want to produce these documents or give copies of them to any tower. However without these documents being present reputable Junk Car Dealers can not remove your vehicle without them to ensure the vehicle is not stolen. If a Junk Car company accepts your vehicle with less than the above documentation you are not dealing with a legitimate company and it may make junking your car very difficult in the long run.
WHY IS IT SO IMPORTANT TO HAVE YOUR VEHICLE’S TITLE?
A car title is the document that proves who the actual owner of the vehicle is. Similar to the deed to your home your car title is your proof that the vehicle you possess is yours. It is your proof that the junk car you want to get rid of belongs to you. It provides critical information regarding the owner, vehicle, and also if there is any lien holder on record. Proving that you own your car is simplest if you have a Certificate of Title.
Nonetheless, you may still be able to sell your junk or unwanted car without this document. Licensed junk car removal services require in the absence of your title a copy of your driver’s license, registration, and insurance card in order to prove all documentation matches and the vehicle belongs to you.
DOES NOT POSSESSING A CERTIFICATE OF TITLE MEAN YOU CAN’T SELL YOUR JUNK CAR?
NO. As stated above you can sell your junk car if it is more than 8 years old and you possess the other documents required by junk car dealers. However, if your junk car is under 8 years old you still can sell it. In NY or NJ in order to sell your junk car you will need to go to your local Department of Motor Vehicles and apply for a duplicate Certificate of Title. In NJ State you can obtain your Certificate at the time of your transaction. In NY State your title will be mailed to you usually within 10 days.
For more information please visit your state Department of Motor Vehicles via the links below:
NEW YORK STATE:
Statement of Vehicle Owner Not Possessing a Valid Title- New York
Statement of Abandoned Vehicle- New York
Vehicle Registration/Title Application- New York
NEW JERSEY STATE:
Duplicate Certificate of Ownership- New Jersey
Application for Salvaged Vehicle Title- New Jersey